Guess Who’s Back…Back Again?

So, I am the furthest thing from an Eminem fan, but the title was fitting after a long hiatus from my tiny little blog. It seems like this time of year I always get the urge to venture out from my 9-5 desk job and pour some energy into something that I consider a creative outlet for myself. So, alas, here I am! Since it’s been awhile I thought I’d share what I have been up to around Milwaukee to help kick the winter blues (even though we have been blessed with a few notably wonderful days, I am over this season. SO over it!)

16864619_10101321972494055_7898829620315579129_n

I am by no means a yogi but lately I have been super inspired by one of my favorite bloggers, The Balanced Blonde, who just completed her 500 hours of yoga training. The way she talks about her yoga practice and the positive effects it has on her body + soul gave me the desire to integrate that into my life.

JY

(This will be me someday, haha but for now not so much…)

If you’re like me, Wisconsin winters take a serious toll on your mental health. I personally feel drained of energy + motivation, excessively tired, irritable, and down right depressed. Given how long our winter season seems to drag out, I couldn’t live with the fact that I’d feel this way for months and months. Insert yoga here. Yoga has been shown to increase the  level of serotonin in the body, increase mental clarity, and calm the nervous system. SIGN. ME. UP. I have most certainly felt the positive effects of yoga included calmed anxiety, more focus, and physical wellness. Who wouldn’t love that?!

It seems like Milwaukee has had a surge of new yoga studios open but given the frigid temperatures and gloom of the season, I felt like hot yoga was the way to go. Get Hot Yoga studio in Wauwatosa just celebrated its one year anniversary and I gotta tell ya, I totally dig this place. The studio is super adorbs, with gorgeous wood floors and a beautiful sliding barn door. They use “Radiant Heat” aka infrared heat in the studio that has SO many amazing benefits including increased flexibility + circulation, weight loss, detoxification and pain relief. Plus, getting toasty in a beautiful space is almost like being on vacation 😉

GHY

front+desk

 As we (slowly) head into spring, I look forward to keeping up with my yoga practice + mixing it in with my other workouts. What are your favorite studios in Milwaukee? I’d love to try out some new places as well! Have a happy Wednesday, y’all and stay warm!

Leave a comment